it's one of those rules that yes it exists, but at the same time my shield is 28" across, and i am aiming for your chest, but sorry your head is going to get hit. The rule is primarily there to stop someone from turning their shield sideways and punching someone with it, rather that oh look someone 8 inches taller than me is shield bashing me and my head got hit THAT"S ILLEGAL! yes, with a but
This was added sometime between 2007 and 2009 to the rules. It used to be one of those things that was not ILLEGAL, but at the same time was frowned upon. They put in this rule to specifically discourage edging people in the face with your shield. Not that you know, I ever did that or anything.....
Proprietor of White Bear Armoury
Page of the Silver Order
Brother-Sergeant of the Hospitaller Order of St. John